Makeup: Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Hi Everyone,

In the spirit of the Irish holiday I thought it would only be appropriate to post a St. Patrick’s Day look!

Those who know me know that I’m not one to wear dramatic, full coverage makeup. This is my personal preference and the style I usually go after when creating looks on either myself or my clients. This isn’t to say that full coverage, dramatic looks aren’t great (they are!) they just aren’t my style. Below, you’ll see the evolution of the St. Patrick’s Day look I was going after. It’s a soft, sweet, playful look incorporating beautiful greens (thanks for the palette Sephora!).

If you have any feedback, leave a comment.

Product list at the bottom.

xo

just jane

before w primer march 16  smile

Before: Yeah, that’s right, I’m smiling!

I used MAC pre + prime primer all over my face, smashbox photo finish under eye primer, and ChapStick original on my lips. It’s pretty cold and dry here in Canada!

base march 16

Base: I’ve applied foundation all over (use a cross hatching motion to get an even application) and concealer under  my eyes, down the bridge of my nose, chin, and T-zone.

contouring march 16

Contouring: I used medium dark MAC mineralize powder to contour directly below the cheekbones, at temples, at the hairline, and right underneath the jawbone. Don’t be afraid to apply the dark colour, you can blend it in to create the contouring effect. I finished this step off with applying Laura Mercier setting powder.

blush and brows march 16 5 blush and brows march 16 4 blush and brows march 16 3 blush and brows march 16 2

Cheeks and brows: I applied a new product I received in my last TopBox: So Susan water based pure luminizer, and I LOVE it! It’s very light and easy to apply (thanks TopBox). I then applied Charlotte Ronson’s 3 x a charm blush, luminizer and bronzer palette mixing the three to create the blush effect I was after. During this stage I also applied Mary Kay brow definer pencil to define the brows a bit more. I very much still go for a natural brow look and don’t look for complete perfection when filling them in (I love complimenting people’s unique features).

eyeshadow march 16

Eyes: I applied a combination of Stila in the know palette, air, along with Pantone 11-0907, 13-0645, and 17-6219 to get the green effect. As I mentioned above I didn’t want to go ‘too big’ here – I wanted to create a look that could take you from day to evening. I also applied Lise Watier’s waterproof eyeliner in Blanc to the lower waterline.

finished march 16 3! finished march 16 7  finished march 16 5 finished march 16 4  finished march 16 2!

The finish: finally, I applied 2 coats of Bourjois Paris Glamour mascara to the top lashes and 1 coat to the bottom. I dabbed Lancôme Juicy tubes in Ultra Brilliant on my lips – a very shear colour.

smile 2

Still smiling!

 

Leave a Reply

