Glammed up

This look was purely inspired by my need to busy myself instead of eating fresh cinnamon buns I made yesterday. You might be asking ‘Why would you ever torture yourself like that!?’ My response is: If you had a bite of one, you’d definitely understand!

There is good news and bad news.

Bad news: I ended up eating 3 big cinnamon buns (buns that will go straight to my buns ;)).

GOOD NEWS: I created this really great glammed up look.

I hope you enjoy and feel free to leave a note!

xo just jane

2014-07-19 15.48.45

 The before.

I moisturized with an SPF 30, applied eye moisturizer and also primed with MAC Prep+Prime. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, this protects your skin, keeps it hydrated, and makes for great make-up application and coverage!

2014-07-19 15.58.36

The foundation.

You can see that I’ve put my base on: foundation, concealer, and powder (this is order). I made it lighter under my eyes (using a lighter concealer) and down my cheeks to bring light to that area. It’s noticeable now but don’t worry if you try this – everything will blend in. I finished this step off by buffing in the powder.

2014-07-19 16.11.02 2014-07-19 16.11.10 2014-07-19 16.08.55

The contouring.

I applied a darker powder (I used Mary Kay Bronzer) right beneath my cheekbones, at the temples, along hairline, and at my jawline.

Tip: once you’ve buffed in your powder (this helps to set the make-up), take a clean powder brush and go over entire face – I find this to create a seamless transition between the different shades.

 2014-07-19 16.20.15 2014-07-19 16.21.10

The cheeks.

I began by applying a highlighter to the tops of my cheeks and a very small amount along my jawline – this brings light to the right areas. I then applied a pinky beige colour to the apples of my cheeks and swept upwards towards my temples.

Tip: Having a blush palette that contains a blush, a darker beige, and a very light highlighter is amazing! You can mix and match to create so many different blush colours and effects. I use the Charlotte Ronson 3x a charm Shoshanna.

2014-07-19 16.33.56

The eyes.

After this picture I got so into my eye creation that I forgot to take any shots between steps (sorry!). Essentially I mixed and matched different colours, not liking a look only to add another colour and building a glammed look that really suited.

What I can say here is that I not only covered my lid with eyeshadow but also under my eye as well. Don’t be scared to add colour – if you make a mistake or feel like you put too much on, you can always grab a Q-tip and take off any excess (believe me, I had to fix up a few things here).

2014-07-19 17.15.312014-07-19 17.15.502014-07-19 17.11.522014-07-19 17.16.10

The look.

and voila!

Tip: to create this darker lip colour I actually took a berry coloured lipstick and mixed a brown eyeshadow in to create the colour. Don’t be scared to try different things out – you’ll be surprised at the results.

xo

2014-07-19 17.24.32

the products.

  • Mary Kay timewise age-fighting moisturizer
  • Neutrogena Healthy Skin eye cream
  • MAC prep + prime
  • Makeup Forever 5 Camouflage Cream Palette
  • Bobbi Brown skin foundation in Warm Sand 2.5
  • MAC mineralize powder foundation in medium and medium dark
  • Mary Kay Bronzer
  • Charlotte Ronson 3 x a charm shoshanna
  • Bobbi Brown blush blushed
  • So Susan highlighter
  • Mary Kay eyebrow pencil blonde
  • Too Faced shadow insurance
  • Too Faced Return of Sexy eyeshadow palette (The Ingenue)
  • Sephora pro lesson palette (dark brown for lips and marie n14 on eyes)
  • Sephora eye pencil coffee
  • Arbonne It’s a long story mascara
  • Clinque lipstick Shy
Leave a Reply

